top of page


CB4BC328-0545-499E-B209-0786ADE2A969 2.JPG

Mr. Levi Duncan

Head Choir Director

Fine Arts Department Chair

TMEA Region 17 Vocal Chair

Mr. Duncan is in his ninth year of teaching and his fourth year as head choir director and fine arts department chair at Alvin High School. He earned a Bachelor of Music degree in choral music education (magna cum laude) from Lamar University and an Associate of Science degree in vocal/instrumental music (cum laude) from Panola College. He is an active conductor, adjudicator, clinician, and arts advocate. Mr. Duncan is currently serving as the TMEA Region 17 Vocal Chair.

Under his leadership, the Alvin High School Choirs consistently earn sweepstakes at UIL Concert and Sight-Reading Contest, Best in Class/Best Overall Choir at various festivals, and has had numerous TMEA All-Staters. He has been named a AHS MCJROTC Inspiration Educator for 3 straight years (2020, 2021, and 2022) and a Claes Nobel Educator of Distinction by the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS) in 2021. In 2020, Mr. Duncan was named a "Teacher of the Week" by internationally acclaimed composer, Eric Whitacre.

In addition to his responsibilities at Alvin High School, Mr. Duncan serves as the Chancel Choir Director at Clear Lake Presbyterian Church in Houston, TX.


From 2016 - 2020, Mr. Duncan served as the founder and artistic director of the Southeast Texas Vocal Artists (STVA), an auditioned community choir based in Beaumont, Texas. Since creating the organization in 2015, the ensemble grew to over 40 singers and statewide recognition. In July 2017, the Southeast Texas Vocal Artists performed at the Texas Choral Directors Association Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

His professional affiliations include TMEA, TCDA, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity, Pi Kappa Lambda-National Music Honor Society, and Phi Kappa Phi-National Honor Society. In his free time, Mr. Duncan loves spending time with friends and family and watching anything related to his favorite sports team -- the Philadelphia Eagles! #FlyEaglesFly


Mr. Shawn Simonson

Assistant Choir Director

Musical Vocal Director

Mr. Simonson is in his third year of teaching, and his second year as Assistant Choir Director at Alvin High School. He graduated from Lamar University in 2020, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Music with an emphasis in choral music education.


In his time at Lamar, Mr. Simonson studied as a tenor under Dr. Serdar Ilban. Just to name a few accomplishments: he performed countless solos, took on the lead role of Gabriel Eisenstein in Strauss’ “Die Fledermaus”, and won first place in the senior division of the Greater Houston National Association of Teachers of Singing competition.


Under his leadership, Mr. Simonson has shown proven success with revitalizing choral programs. In a single year at Vidor High School, All-Region participation increased by 400%, and the program took home two UIL Concert & Sight-Reading trophies, including one for a clean Sweepstakes, for the first time in over a decade! At Alvin High School, the Non-Varsity Treble Choir continued its streak of receiving clean Sweepstakes awards, and the Sub-Non-Varsity Treble Choir received an excellent rating in Concert & Sight-Reading after attending the evaluation for the first time in the school’s history. He also serves as the school’s Head Vocal Director of the annual musical.


Mr. Simonson recently completed a 3-year tenure as the Director of Music for First United Methodist Church in Silsbee, Texas. There, he directed the choir while accompanying them on the piano and pipe organ. He was the first music director, in the church’s history, to establish a scholarship program for vocal music majors. He also oversaw the handbell restoration project, which brought the handbell choir back to the church after 30 years of inactivity.


His professional affiliations include TMEA, TCDA, and Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America. When he isn’t working, Mr. Simonson loves to collect, play, and even design board games. He also loves completing escape rooms, composing choral music, spending time with his fiancée, Zoey, and playing with their German Shepherd, Leia Lorraine.

2022-2023 Alvin High School Choir Officers


President - Devon Baxa
Vice President - Jeneveve Hernandez
Vice President - Lindsey Haneline
Secretary - C.J. Parker
Treasurer - Ryan Donaho
Lead Social Officer - William Boyd
Co-Historian - Alexa Padilla 
Co-Historian - Sophia Grisso
Member At-Large - Paul Braden
Member At-Large - Quentin Summa
Member At-Large - Haylee Bunker
Member At-Large - Brooklyn Chlamon
Member At-Large - Davian Yzquierdo

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

bottom of page